The Annunciation by Fra Angelico

The Annunciation by Fra Angelico

Sundays are nice. There have been times in my life when I was sleeping with a woman and would miss Mass on Sundays. I always disliked that. Eventually I would start returning to Mass, even though I was sleeping with someone. We won’t get into the moral questions of that right now.

This morning as I left Mass I was happy not to be in that situation right now. Of course I enjoy the feel of a woman in my bed, and I know that I cannot really resist such an opportunity when it arises, but it does create a lot of problems. Simplicity can be a great virtue. No matter how good sex may feel, the negative sense of being cut off from my spiritual life far outweighs the fleeting pleasures of casual sex.

I had a nice day, free from such worries and concerns. Sundays have a special feel about them, a certain brightness and relaxation, even in the depths of winter.  Of course tomorrow might be a different day completely and I could find myself once again enjoying the pleasures of casual sex, but I know that there is a cost to such things. Somehow there is a greater, deeper happiness in leading one type of life rather than another. The immediate pleasures are not as intense, but the long term satisfaction is infinitely better.

